Dear KACA members,

KACA Jae-won Lee Distinguished Service Award Committee is accepting nominations for up to 2 awards this year. The deadline is June 1, 2023, at 11:59 pm (PT).

About the award:  

The Jae-won Lee Distinguished Service Award was first established in 2018 to honor Professor Emeritus Jae-won Lee (Cleveland State University), the founder and a two-time president of Korean American Communication Association (KACA) through a generous gift from Dr. Lee himself. Dr. Lee has been an inspiring role model and dedicated mentor for numerous Korean and non-Korean students and scholars. The award is to recognize a person who has demonstrated many years of extraordinary service and steadfast commitment to the mission of KACA, carrying forward Dr. Lee’s legacy. 


Qualification: The nominee (s) and nominator(s) must be current KACA members.  

To nominate yourself, email the following documents as a single PDF file to the Awards Committee Chair, Dr. Taehyun Kim (taehyun.kim@csun.edu).  

1)      Current curriculum vitae that highlights service activities, formal and informal, providing clear evidence that the nominee has made outstanding contributions to the KACA, academic community, and/or university through committee work, leadership, and/or other service activities beyond teaching and scholarly or creative activities. 

2)      Personal Statement that addresses the following question: “How are your records of service and contribution toward KACA closely aligned with as well as foster Dr. Lee’s long-term vision for KACA as an organization for Korean and non-Korean students and scholars (Word count: less than 1,000) 

3)      Names and contact information of two references.  

To nominate someone, email a 300 to 500-word description of the nominee to the Award Committee Chair. In acceptance of the nomination, the nominee will be asked to submit documents listed in the self-nomination option.  

The nomination deadline is June 1, 2023. The honoree will be selected by the KACA Jae-won Lee Distinguished Service Award Committee and will be recognized at the KACA Business Meeting at the AEJMC in August. The recognition includes a monetary award of $500 and the presentation of a crystal plaque. The honoree will be listed on the KACA homepage. 

*2020 Jae-Won Lee Distinguished Service Award recipient: Dr. Seungahn Nah (University of Florida). 

For further information: Taehyun Kim, Ph.D. 

Associate Professor, Dept. of Journalism 

California State University, Northridge 

Email: taehyun.kim@csun.edu   

Tel: (818) 427-8875 

Author: admin

KACA rocks!

Share This Post On

Submit a Comment

Share This